Border Expert Advisory Group – GOV.UK

The UK Border Expert Advisory Group (BEAG), established in September 2021, was set up to provide an external challenge to the government on border design, acting as a ‘critical friend’ with unique insight the impact of the proposals on users.


The UK Border Expert Advisory Group is a group of experts who provide input on border proposals to the Cabinet Office’s Border and Protocol Delivery Group, which is responsible for coordinating the development of the policies and processes that underpin the Target Operating Model at long term for the UK. border and achieve the goals of the UK Border Strategy 2025.


The role of the Advisory Panel of Border Experts is to advise the government on its plans to modernize the border. The Group itself has no decision-making power. The group:

  • Acts as a critical friend to the general direction of border policy;
  • Review design proposals that provide the target operating model for the Border, advising on the likely impact of the Border design on users;
  • Provides insight into the impact of live policy on border users;
  • Helps the government analyze the horizon relative to the frontier, providing insight into what the private sector and other countries are planning


The Border Expert Advisory Group consists of approximately 20 members who provide expert advice on border design across trade, security and the international movement of people. The members were recommended by the ministries and were accepted by Lord Frost. Members are invited to serve for 12 months initially, after which membership will be subject to renewal.

The current list of members is shown below:

  • Theadora Alexander – Co-Founder and CEO, Young Foodies
  • William Bain – Head of Trade Policy, British Chamber of Commerce
  • Richard Ballantyne – Chairman and CEO, Welsh Automotive Forum
  • Elizabeth de Jong – Policy Director, Logistics UK
  • Karen Dee – Managing Director, Airport Operators Association
  • Amanda Francis – Managing Director, Association of International Courier and Express Services
  • Elizabeth Hegarty – Director of Services, Heathrow Airport
  • Dr Anna Jerzewska – Director, Trade and Borders
  • Mark Johnson – National Customs and Trade Compliance Manager, Kuehne + Nagel UK Ltd
  • Dr. Lars Karlsson – Chairman, KGH Border Services
  • Peter Macswiney – Chairman of ASM (UK) Ltd Trade
  • Kevin McAleenan – President and CEO, Pangiam
  • Robert O’Neil – Chairman and CEO, Welsh Automotive Forum
  • Sue Probert – Chair of the Center for Trade Facilitation and Electronic Commerce at the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe
  • Sarah Treseder – Managing Director, UK Chamber of Shipping
  • Rob Wainwright – Senior Cyber ​​Partner, Deloitte
  • Teacher. David Widdowson – Head of School, Center for Customs and Excise Studies, Charles Sturt University in Australia
  • Scott Wiener – CTO and Service Line Manager, Atkins
  • Robert Windsor – Head of Policy and Compliance, Executive Director, British International Freight Association
  • Ian Wright – Chief Executive Officer, Food and Beverage Federation

[email protected]

Previous Consumers Energy and key stakeholders reach agreement to reduce coal by 2025
Next IMF says it had 'fruitful' technical talks with Sri Lanka over loan request